Annual General Meeting, Season 2016/17 - Tuesday 25th April 2017.

On Tuesday 25th April the AGM for the 2016/17 season was held at Morpeth Camera Club. There was an air of sadness as
the sudden death of Life President & Print Competition Secretary Vince Rooker was announced. Vince had been a member
for over fifty years and his contribution to the club over this period was immeasurable. A minutes silence was observed
before several tributes and messages of sympathy were recorded.
Club Chairman Glyn Trueman reported that the club had enjoyed another successful season with a varied programme of
guest speakers, presentations and competitions. The club has a current membership of forty three persons and was in a
healthy position financially with no increase is subscriptions for next season. The main fund raising 'Big Event' was the
most successful to date and guest speakers Alan & Julie Walker had been well received. This annual show had moved
from November to February and as it was believed that this had been a contributing factor, it was decided that future
events will be at a similar time. The event had been well supported by members and friends and Lionel Bryan and his
organising team were thanked for an outstanding effort.
The club had seen a rise in pdi, colour prints and monochrome print entries in the club competitions this season with
work submitted by thirty one different members. In Interclub Competitions Morpeth had won the Reiver Cup finishing
in first place in the Borders Digital Challenge at Hawick. Morpeth Camera Club had also won the 7 Way Interclub PDI
Category Competition for the fifth year in succession, an outstanding run and the first time that this has been achieved
in the history of the competition.
A programme of summer walks had been held, the website continues to attract more views, the training programme
had continued before meetings and the fact that a lot of work goes on 'behind the scenes' was recognised. The Club
committee had worked tirelessly throughout the season and outgoing chairman Glyn Trueman thanked them for their
support before he was was thanked for his efforts after two years in office. New chairman Mark Harrison was welcomed
and the committee that will take the club forward for the 2017/18 season that will start on Tuesday 5th September are
as follows -

Chairman - Mark Harrison.
Vice Chairman - John Barnes.
Secretary - Dave Bisset.
Treasurer - Gordon Hine
Programme Sec - Glyn Trueman.
Comp Sec Prints - Peter Downs.
Comp Sec PDI - Davy Bolam.
Publicity Sec - Stephanie Robson.
Webmaster - Davy Bolam.

A full report of the AGM will be forwarded to all members in due course.